Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
:rocker:Hey I'm not an expert ...but i did sleep at a holiday inn last night...
My aquaintance told me the signal from the stock Toyota stereo is great.

So I left my stock deck in the car and just bumped the signal.

In the rear we modified the stock sub woofer box giving it more air space and installed a single 8" Kicker powered by its own hidden 500 watt Sony amp
then we installed 2- 6" Momo's in the midship and some 3" polka tweets up front.. these four speakers are powered by a top o the line Kicker 4 channel 500 watt amp.Disconnect your cardboard wafers in the ceiling too they suck
..obviously all the stock speakers are garbage.

Both amps are very secure and hidden in the huge area hidden behind the plastic near where the passengers head is.

The end result is An absolutely superb sounding sysytem that looks completely stock.

i was ready to drop $700.00 on a deck but i'm glad i didnt , now for $900.00 bucks in momo's and amps this system Rocks!!!

Install pics Below in newer post

·
Registered
2,822 Posts
Pictures? Details how you modded the stock sub box. What exact speaker did you use in it?

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
Never ever heard someone use the term "Bumped the signal" What does that mean? You mean you used a FM booster to amplifi the FM signal reception. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Pictures? Details how you modded the stock sub box. What exact speaker did you use in it?
I'll get you some pics soon, it at the body shop getting door handles painted black..ps like your bushwackers mine are white on black.
the speaker is a 10" (stock is 8") polka audio MOMO

·
Premium Member
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Never ever heard someone use the term "Bumped the signal" What does that mean? You mean you used a FM booster to amplifi the FM signal reception. Thanks.