Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure where else to post this on here as this is my first time posting here. but here she goes.
I bought a 2007 FJ cruiser in october, financed it over 3 years with plans to pay it off early it only had 145k km on it i havent even put 5000 kms on the vehicle. everything looked and seemed fine. This week where i live we got some extreme cold temperatures -30 to -48. Leaving work tuesday the check engine light came on along with traction control off and tcs i believe are the lights. driving to work wednesday my oil pressure light came on as i was getting to work. i parked it in the shop thinking maybe the cold weather caused it. the oil looked a little low so i added 1L of oil to it. read it with a code reader P0012 P0022 for both camshafts being over retarded i googled them and it seemed like it could be to low oil pressure as the VVT uses oil to actuate.so we take it to the local dealer and they say it looks like someone sprinkled glitter in my oil and that i need a new engine. so im just looking for advice here on if its worth replacing the engine. kind of lost for words nervous to tell my SO.

·
Registered
189 Posts
Personally, I’d replace throw a set of bearings at it before I replaced the engine. Cross fingers and run it a thousand miles, do an oil analysis and make my call from there.

Dealer service departments aren’t where I’d ever take advice on repairs, but that’s just me...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Premium Member
11,784 Posts
2nd opinion.....always, might need a 3rd as a tie breaker.

Tell the SO

·
Premium Member
4,080 Posts
#1. Flowers to SO

Do you have any mechanics in the area that you know and trust?

#2. Chocolates to SO

·
Registered
327 Posts