Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright I have a feeling when this one gets answered I am going to hide in shame but "the "R" stands for reverse" I need to ask.
I have been shopping for a used FJ for a about 6 months now and may have finally found one, I took one for a test drive today and am a bit confused.

On the shifter (not exact picture but similar to the one below) there is 4D and once the shifter has gotten to that point you can slide it left or right and on the console, also pictured it displays as 4 or D depending on the selection.

Am I correct in assuming that the D = overdrive on for highway driving?

Thanks,

·
Registered
2,487 Posts
All your questions on the newb sections are protected from flaming. You are correct in all your assumptions.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input, down to the last $300 margin of the negotiating process before I join the FJ nation.

·
Registered
297 Posts
See, when you ask simple questions like that and it gets answered, the other half of us collectively go .... "ooOOhhh.... huh.."

:cheers:

·
Registered
2,125 Posts
while were asking newb questions i got one, whats the difference between the 4d-2l compared to the hi-lo on the smaller shifter on an automatic? Every car ive driven had the hi-lo switch below the stereo so im not familiar with this set up. Thanks

·
Registered
671 Posts