Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Should I get a winch considering the weight?

8K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  ZacharyD 
#1 ·
I've been considering the addition of a winch to my front bumper. This would be just for safety. I've been using the FJ for about 2 years and only once I had to be winched out by another vehicle, but in that case, having my own winch would not have helped. I don't intend to do anything that would require a winch from the onset. I'd only use it when I fucked up or got too confident.
Truthfully I wheel alone most of the time (yeah I know many will say that answers my question). However, I am super conservative. In the above situation I got stuck because there were 4 jeeps behind me (although it took a 4runner to eventually get me out). I bring maxtrax, tow strap, snatch strap, and a Hi-lift everywhere I go.

I currently have...

Demello Evil Eye Steel bumper and a full set of Ricochet aluminum skids. This is on a set of 885 OME springs.

The front bumper weighs 120 lbs. I don't know the weight of the front skid, but It's something like 30 lbs I'd guess.

So, these two components are about 150 lbs. The springs I have are something like 170 lbs additional constant weight.

I'm considering a Smittybilt X20 synthetic line. Some places say it's 67 lbs and others say 99 lbs. Either way, it puts me over the 170 lbs.

I've been reading a lot about 886 springs, but there are a lot of mixed reviews. Some people say they destroyed their front end or left them inflexible. Others say they were a huge improvement over the 885 springs considering they lost 1" after adding a winch. I would also loathe having to replace the springs because of the cost and time.

I currently have 12" of clearance between the center of my front skid and the ground running stock tire size.

Thoughts?

See less See more
#2 ·