Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to the FJ world and 4x4 in general. I am very mechanically inclined (industrial maintenance technician). I build cars on the side as well, that being said I know very little about 4x4 systems in general.

We've put 600 miles on our FJ and we love it! When I first take off in the morning I have a slight vibration for the first 5 or so miles then it seems to go away but I'm left with what I feel is a little too much noise.
First thought was the wheel bearings but as I crawled under the vehicle I noticed the rear drive shaft was a little wet (see photos). The noise stays constant even when put in neutral cruising. Should I be concerned? Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
Drive shaft is fine its just spitting out a bit of grease from the u joints....mine look the same. Maybe your tires are a little flat spotted until they warm up in the morning. I would say check your wheel weights but you said it goes away after a few minutes. Hope this helps :)

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
If you just got it maybe change all the fluids on it. Rear diff , transfer case, Front diff. All super easy to do. Maybe see if that quiets anything down. Transmission fluid and power steering fluid also easy to do :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That's what's next on the list, planned on changing every fluid in it. The vehicle is super clean and even has a Toyota battery in it. Looks like it was serviced at the dealer maybe? I don't have service records but everything is super clean engine and transmission wise.

·
Registered
2007 FJC 4x4.
9,880 Posts
I dont think you would typically get much noise from the driveshaft - it it were a U-joint you would likely get vibration all the time and maybe worse once warmed up.