Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just curious about how a snorkel works and if it's worth it on my 07 FJ Cruiser... are they worth the money? Are they improve MPG, power? Or, do they just look good?

·
Premium Member
4,405 Posts
Pull clean air from above. Stock the air cleaner get its air from the wheel well.

Something I want to do if I figure how to adapt the Safari snorkel to my Airaid intake. I still have all the OEM parts, may go back to stock air cleaner so I can upgrade. Just for the dusty roads.

Power, MPG, don't think so. The looks have kinda grown on me over the years. I wouldn't do it for the looks though. Water crossings? Don't know, I think you get it deep enough to pull water into the engine through the OEM cleaner you may/will encounter other problems. I have no experience there. Lots of experience with dusty roads.

Good luck,

·
Registered
3 Posts
Pull clean air from above. Stock the air cleaner get its air from the wheel well.

Something I want to do if I figure how to adapt the Safari snorkel to my Airaid intake. I still have all the OEM parts, may go back to stock air cleaner so I can upgrade. Just for the dusty roads.

Power, MPG, don't think so. The looks have kinda grown on me over the years. I wouldn't do it for the looks though.

Good luck,
all you need to convert the ARB Safari snorkel to the airaid intake is
3.5" to 4" Silicone Reducer Hose - 4 Ply Heavy Duty Silicone Hose Coupler - Ticon Industries
from amazon and one 4" hose clamp, you can reuse the original hose clamp from the factory side and the coupler will need to be trimmed to make clearance since its not an offset coupler, your other choice would be to find a 3.5 to 4 offset coupler (would be much more expensive but wouldnt need trimmed)

·
Premium Member
4,405 Posts
(y) (y) (y) (y) (y)