Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Storm of the century headed for Atlanta! Could get 4"!!! Yeah... I know. And hear I sit with BFG ATs with 30,000 miles on them - probably 20% tread left. Despite living in ATL, I've got some snow experience (moved here from NYC) but I'd like to hear some thoughts on what to expect from these almost worn out ATs, e.g. how useless will they be if we do get some "real" snow.

I was thinking of airing down to 22-24 psi to let (what's left of) the siping do as much as possible...

I'm also preparing for the crap I'm going to catch from Blind Side - he lives up the street and his FJ is sitting on brand new MTs... at least I've got someone to pull me out ;-)

·
Registered
4,824 Posts
LOL....You're right. They will be crap....lol. But then again you will have 4wd which means you will just get further into the same ditches everyone else slides into since very very few people down that way have any idea what it means to slow down when it is slippery.

I was down in SC once during snow and it blew my mind watching people pass on the interstate at 70mph with an inch of snow and summer tires..... A mile down the road they are either in the median or stuck on a slight incline of an off ramp....lol

Good luck. Stock up now and just stay home.....Much safer.

·
Premium Member
1,808 Posts
Storm of the century headed for Atlanta!
Damn!

No biggie regardless of tires or PSIs, but airing down may help a little, though...

Didn't have any problems even when I drove through NE blizzards in my Camry.

Try NOT to think of your truck as a pretty capable 4WD all - terrain vehicle.

---

Just drive slow, and be mindful of your vehicle's mass and braking distance.

·
Premium Member
1,808 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts