Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I'm a total newbie. Just got an 07 Voodoo Blue. My wife drives it 75% of the time. So far it's a mall crawler. I look forward to doing some mods like lift and level it,and plan on going with some Nitto Trail Grapplers 285/70/17 this month. Can't wait to black it out as well. I plan on doing some trails, but nothing serious as of yet. As I can afford to do more I will, and suspension is a little much for me right now, so spacers are looking good.

Will spacers be fine for a lift?
What are the pros and cons (please don't say "poser")?

Thanks for your help.

·
Premium Member
18,479 Posts
Pros: Price.
Cons: Ride quality.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is the ride quality similar to stock or worse?

I'm looking to do a 3" lift.

·
fka gremlin2050
1,775 Posts
depends on what kind of spacer. will you be placing it on top of the coilover assembly, or will you be taking it apart to fit in a polyurethane spacer? top plate spacers will have a stock-ish ride, polyurethane spacers in the coilover will be extending the shock and ride worse.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Didn't know I had an option. Top plate sounds like the best option though. I will look into those if I go spacers.

·
Premium Member
7,729 Posts
yup, top plate is better option. quick n easy but rougher ride. The FJ wasnt made for comfort anyway.

·
Registered
2,038 Posts
I had a spacer lift on my FJ before I got an Old Man Emu kit.

I drove the factory suspension (regular 4x4, Tokico shocks) untouched for about 1 year, drove the spacer kit for almost 2 years and have had the OME for the past ~4 months.

My (uneducated) thoughts: