Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy y'all,
I'm a newbie owner of a 2010 FJ Cruiser, so please bear with me. I put the FJ in 4 Hi today and when I pulled out of my rocky sideyard and turned left it made a very expensive sounding clunk, but ran just fine after that. Later I drove it down to the walmart (about 5 mins. away) in 4 Hi and it was driving fine until I tried turn while I was in the parking lot. It shuttered and clunked, not as loud, but there were more clunks. So I switched it back to 2wd, no problems, rode perfect. When I left I switched it back to 4Hi and it was shuttering and doing small clunks again, so i just put it back in 2wd and no problems. I have a warranty on it, so fixing it is no problem, but does anyone know why it's doing that?
Thank y'all!

·
Desert Moderator
5,662 Posts
Howdy y'all,
I'm a newbie owner of a 2010 FJ Cruiser, so please bear with me. I put the FJ in 4 Hi today and when I pulled out of my rocky sideyard and turned left it made a very expensive sounding clunk, but ran just fine after that. Later I drove it down to the walmart (about 5 mins. away) in 4 Hi and it was driving fine until I tried turn while I was in the parking lot. It shuttered and clunked, not as loud, but there were more clunks. So I switched it back to 2wd, no problems, rode perfect. When I left I switched it back to 4Hi and it was shuttering and doing small clunks again, so i just put it back in 2wd and no problems. I have a warranty on it, so fixing it is no problem, but does anyone know why it's doing that?
Thank y'all!
It does that because it is a part time 4WD vehicle, not an AWD vehicle.
Part time 4WD (such as Automatic Trans FJs or Jeep Wrangler) are only intended to be put into 4WD on loose surfaces. This is because there is no centre differential, just a transfer case.