Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just bought an '07 FJ and I want to see what off-roading is all about. I had a 2000 MR2 Spyder before and loved taking it to the limits through the twisties but I have no Off-Road experience whatsoever.

I live near the Pine Barrens in NJ and want to take my bone stock FJ out there and putt around. What kind of things should I avoid doing with my stock FJ? how capable is my stock FJ?

EDIT: I did some searching and found a lot of useful information on this subject. If any people that wheel in the south jersey area want to give me some tips that'd be great. I just want to get my feet wet a little and see what it's all about. Not looking to do any pinstriping or river fording just yet.

·
Registered
837 Posts
I would talk to Joeisip, hes the NJ go to guy if I'm correct.

·
Premium Member
1,984 Posts
If you're not thinking of doing hardcore rock crawling, your stock FJ is capable of doing everything if you go at it slowly. Stocks have done Moab trails with modified without any problems. It's a very good machine "right out of the box"

·
Registered
368 Posts
Don't go alone...as in, without another capable vehicle to assist, etc.

·
Registered
16 Posts
I am running my stock FJ around the california deserts and the sierras with no problems. Just took it up the Diablo Drop-Off at Anza Borrego that is marked as difficult by the guides (and not recommended for stock SUVs) and it did not even breathe hard (although I did). Just take it slow and I think you will find that the truck can do more than you dare for a while.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I took the FJ to a place called Menantico today. It's very popular for offroading although a search on here found nothing, JKOwners.com has some info on it.