Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a silver 2007 fj auto 4wd with stock wheels, shocks, engine, etc. would this handle medium intensity trails?

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
These things are way more capable stock than they look. Mud, deep water , rocks, snow, hill climbs. I`ve done it all and the truck made it feel easy.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Common sense and good judgment can get you a long ways.

Stock FJs are very capable.I have taken my wife's bone stock FJ a lot of places I probably shouldn't have but,I have a lot of wheeling experience :lol:

My biggest problem is remembering not to drive her FJ like I drive my FJ.

Her FJ,

My FJ :rofl: ,

·
Registered
34 Posts
I have a silver 2007 fj auto 4wd with stock wheels, shocks, engine, etc. would this handle medium intensity trails?
I'm still a newbie to wheeling and I have been thinking about the same question.

The stock rig is actually quite capable and well-balanced, but it may need some basic off-road protections, such as, doing a scuba mod before driving into water, or getting rock rails, skid plates and beefier rear lower links before engaging hard obstacles. Otherwise major repairs/recoveries are likely to cost more.

In some rare cases, the stock FJ might actually have advantages off-road. For example:
  • The stock FJ may have a lower center of gravity compared to lifted rigs.
  • The stock FJ has less weight.
  • The stock gear ratio works better with the stock (smaller) tire size, which provides more wheel torque, less stress on axles and a slower pace for climbing.
I once saw an impressive youtube video of a stock FJ wheeling up Hells Gate (I believe it was MissFJ on this forum). Now I think about it again, the stock FJ might actually be a great configuration for that kind of wheeling: stay low & crawl slow.