Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still learning alot about offroading and i am wodering what is the purpose of a sway bar? And what would be some possible consequences of taking it completely off?
Thanks

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
I am still learning alot about offroading and i am wodering what is the purpose of a sway bar? And what would be some possible consequences of taking it completely off?
Thanks
Main purpose is to control rocking while driving on the road. Without it, unless you have stiff coils, you will have a lot of body roll. Also, when off-road, it limits articulation. While this may sound bad, it is usually a good thing, since it keeps you from breaking anything. Without the swaybar (I think) you need to run limit straps to keep from over-extending your suspension.

·
Premium Member
7,676 Posts
I've ran my fj for years without the front and rear sway bars. The main purpose why we did it was so we weren't "tippy" rock crawling. We run Old Man Emu "heavy" shocks that seem to hold her up pretty well on dips when driving fast. You WILL go through your shocks faster though. It's a little different driving without the sways, but everyone seems to get use to it, that have taken them out.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
so when you say "werent tippy", do you mean it will make it less likely to roll over say if i have a 6" fabtech lift? because everything that makes it less likely to flip helps.
thanks

·
Premium Member
7,676 Posts
It let's your wheel's hang lower in a sense, keeping the tires touching the ground more frequently in bad spots vs tires in the air. I don't recommend anything higher than a 3" lift but that's purely my own opinion :)

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #6