Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't had a 4 wheel vehicle in 15 years that has "stirred the soul" enough to even care to mod it or personalize it to my own tastes. I've been a pretty hardcore sportbike rider for many many years and have built a couple, IMO, pretty special bikes that were an extension of my personality.
The FJC is now that special vehicle to me. She looks unlike any other vehicle and immediately caught my eye. <3 at first sight. It wasn't till after I had decided on the FJ that I started checking out the various forums and found out the hardcore following for this relatively new and capable vehicle. Since I am a complete noob to offroading I hope to get advice when asked and/or as important when offered by others with more real world experience with carefully picking mods so as not to waste my time and money by going in a direction that offers little practical worth or does not put me in reach of my goals of this build.

So begins my first 4 wheel build thread, let the fun begin....

The base:
2010 / Silver Fresco / 5AT / Upgrade pkg 2 / convenience pkg 2 / roof rack
Purchased on May 19, 2010 w/60 miles on the odo.

The goal: (vague now and subject to refinement)
A capable, aggressive looking, mild offroader that still retains alot of on road driveability manners and retain the currently meager MPG.

Picking her up! :) Day 1

·
Premium Member
103 Posts
Congrats! Cant wait to see the progress.

·
Premium Member
1,491 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
First mods I want to go after are the protection mods, gotta keep the investment covered. After a bit of research and tons of recommendations I decided to go with a full ricochet under armor kit;
Complete Set Includes:

Front Bash Plate
Engine Skid Plate
Transfer Case Skid Plate
Supporting Cross Member
Fuel Tank Skid Plate
Transfer Case Skid Plate
Rock Block Set (replaces vulnerable cat tube protecter bolts)
Control Arm Guards