Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm on a search for an FJ and have been combing the internet till my eyes cross and then do it again. In my search, I have tried hard to avoid northern vehicles where salt/rust may be an issue that's not to say a coastal area wouldn't. I'm not so worried about miles since these are tough Toyota engines. I did learn that there was and engine modification in 2010 (4v/cyl and regular gas), that said, should I concentrate my efforts only on the 2010-14? Any noticeable real world negative in owning a pre-2010 model? Do you think there is more value in owning the older models vs the lower mileage, albiet more expensive newer model?

Also found a 2013 TT w/ 72K for $30K - Good deal?

·
Registered
206 Posts
My 08 has plenty of power, I’d pay more attention to lack of things like back up cams, but I’m a noob

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
1,452 Posts
If you intend to go off road with any seriousness, you may want the more robust 8.2 inch rear diff in the 2010+... but it is not mandatory, plenty of 07-09s have been wheeled. Just something to consider.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I was in the same boat trying to make that decision. It really is a 10k+ decision.

With that said, for what I want to do with it, I decided on a super clean 07 with low mileage. They're out there, but you do have to get a little lucky. I still can't believe I found an 07 with 68k miles that doesn't look like it was wheeled 2 miles from my house at a dealership. Granted they had it over priced and I negotiated down to $16,750, but I feel like it was a better financial decision than spending 30k+ on a newer model.

It'll run another 200k easy. I don't need a serious rock crawler. I need a vehicle to get me in and out of the back country and deal with snowy mountain roads and rocky desert terrain. This should do the trick.

·
Registered
1,452 Posts