Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,

I wish I had more time to surf the site and contribute more often, but this issue has been parsed quite a bit, herein, and now that I have some experience with the issue, I felt it a good bit of information for those seeking to tow a camper with their FJ. That being said, my apologies if any of this is redundant.

My FJ is an '07 with about 254HP (via CAI and AFE exhaust). The wheels are 17's and tires are just big enough to fit under the slight wheel-well increase from the OME suspension so they don't rub anywhere. This created a bit of power loss respective of towing. I don't claim to be any type of a wrench so pardon me if my choice of words are - well - non-technical...

I've been towing a 21 ft Winnebago Minnie. With hitch (load dist. hitch), cargo, and empty water tank, it's coming in around 4,600 pounds. I also have added one anti-sway bar.

Here's the scoop per my experience...

The cons: Best MPG has been 11 and the worst has been 9.5. She struggles a bit over hill and dale. I try not to push her beyond 2,500 rpm over the mountains which has dragged me down to a bottom of about 45 mph at times.

The pros: No sway on the interstates so long as the sway bar is tight enough. There's a tiny bit when a semi passes (sometimes). However, much less than anticipated. The hitch set up does the job. Also, she runs on "gentle" interstate grades at around 60 to 63 MPH at 2,500 RPM's in 4th (auto trans/wish it was a standard). In 5th she does better with lower RPM's and will stay above 60 on the "gentle" grades if I hit them at 70 (I know - that's too fast!). Note: this practice is questionable because of towing in 5th and the speed required to maintain 60. Any gear searching is stopped by just putting her in 4th.