Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First timer for Moab, and looking for possible trail selections for Cruise Moab. I have an FJ on stage 2 Icon lift (roughly 3") 285/75R17s, front and rear Metal Tech tube bumpers, and belly skids less the tank. I do not have rear diff protection or lower shock mounts. I am a relatively decent driver, but want to get through Moab with little to no damage as this is my daily driver, but also want to get the full experience and challenge myself.

If y'all have any suggestions on fun and challenging trails, throw some suggestions my way and i will be picking trails for Cruise Moab on 3/23/19!

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,367 Posts
First you need to decide if you want to try and get on an overnighter. Slots for those fill up fast. If not then you need to pick day trips for T, F, S. If your worried about damage pick trails with ratings no more that a 5. Then read over the CM descriptions as they are accurate. Watch out for length of trip, no dogs and any other precautions. The scenery in Moab is simply amazing to that’s there for all runs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
You'll be fine for any moderate trail, even more than moderate depending on how adventurous you want to be. You could even do Golden Spike if you don't mind some scrapes on the left front and right rear corners while crossing the Golden Crack. Here are the trail ratings for Easter Jeep Safari, I would say you are good for 6 for sure, maybe 7 https://www.rr4w.com/Trails-Home.cfm

I wouldn't worry about the diff, that is a chunk of cast iron, you have to work pretty hard to wreck it at the speeds you will be crawling. Most of Moab rock crawling is "ledgy" as opposed to bouldery, so you are usually climbing with both wheels on an axle at the same time and the diff is not at risk anyway.

Any first timer should do Hell's Revenge, the quintessential Moab trail.

·
MOAB SUPERSTAR