Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone.

I own a 2008 FJC, purchased in 2014. It is 4x4.

I now have 202,000 miles and have been getting an occasional transmission shudder.
I foolishly trusted the Toyota statement about the transmission being sealed and not needing service.

I have a lot of experience off-roading and even doing my own repairs, but never had an automatic transmission before, so I am ignorant in that area.

Anyway...

I figure that tranny fluid is probably more like tar than anything else by now and I want to change it.

The dealer service department told me that a transmission flush with this many miles can actually "shock" the system and could cause major problems. A local trusty transmission shop said this also.

Both the dealer and the tranny shop said a basic service would be about $225, which seems ridiculous to me with only about 4 quarts being replaced.

I also want to install a Hayden Automotive 679 Rapid-Cool Plate and Fin Transmission Cooler.

So what do the experts think?

Here's what I am thinking:

Do a basic service myself, dropping the pan, cleaning the filter, and replacing the fluid that I loose (into a measured cup/bucket), and also installing the transmission cooler with whatever extra fluid that needs.

Is the "filter" worth replacing, or just clean it out and reinstall with a new gasket? I see it's a wire mesh and not a true filter.

Then drive it for a few thousand miles and repeat the basic service, and keep doing this until the fluid is finally red like it should be. This may take a few months even, but maybe its a way to slowly replace all the fluid without "shocking" the system.

What do you all think?

FYI