Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone. I just bought an 2007 Tonka Truck Yellow Toyota Fj from a used car dealership it has 148000 miles on it and i am absolutely in love, it runs great only problem is the infamous "shudder' Ive been reading a lot of the threads and I've seen some different things, and i have a few Questions. First off I've heard about doing a total transmission flush, Im very new to the Fj (actually its my first truck really) and I was talking to my dad about the shudder and told him about doing a Transmission flush to fix the shudder, He seemed concerned about doing this because he said that when they Flush the old fluid out they pump it back through the transmission and some of the "gunk" could get lodged up there essentially not fully flushing it, and Im no Mechanic by any means haha to really know if thats right or wrong i know a little stuff here and there but no serious knowledge on the mechanics other than what i can read and learn from the forums or my Dad, now i Have heard of the Dr. Trannys Instant shudder fix, and i told him about that too and he says to try that first before doing a flush. So we were going to try that But before we did i wanted to come on here and ask the community about How to get the Dr trannys instant shudder fix into the transmission? Like Step By Step Instructions. hahaha I Really Appreciate any help i can get :) Im also very new to the Forum so I'm Still trying to learn this as well. haha

·
Registered
4,922 Posts
There is a 24mm bolt ( plug ) on the passenger side of the transmission there is no dip stick or fill tube.That is where your fluid can be added. :)

·
Registered
226 Posts
Doing a complete fluid change which is outlined in several of the threads here is not the same as a pressurized flush.