Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!

Newbie here! Just got my FJ (4WD Auto) recently and was planning a trip to Death Valley, especially checking out the Racetrack Playa since its winter and would be pleasantly cold (or maybe the total opposite - unpleasantly cold!). Any do's and don'ts that I should prepare for before I head out, was thinking sometime around last week of Feb. Have heard horror stories about flat tires, broken axle/suspension and really wouldn't be one of those folks stranded in the middle of nowhere with 0 cellphone reception! Any suggestions would be awesome!

Thanks!

·
Registered
10,440 Posts
Welcome... These rigs are really capable and you should have a fun time. I would care a spare front half shaft since that is a weak link in the IFS. They are easy to swap out on a field repair if you have an extra and know how to.

You can find old half-shafts in the wrecking yards now that the FJC has a few years but they can be scarce. You can also give Metal Tech a call. They specialize in Land Cruisers and may have one since they rebuild them as spares for the long travel kits.

Good luck to you.

·
Registered
35 Posts