Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick question.

I have been cruising around a bunch in H4 in my AT (just bought it a month or so ago). I have recently noticed when turning sharply and foot off the gas at slow speed it feels like the wheels aren't quite rotating properly. Sort of like you were trying to turn sharply on a locked differential. It feels a little lurchy I guess would be the best way to describe it. It doesn't feel the same if I accelerate. I am just wondering if this is normal or should it feel like the vehicle moves smoothly when in H4 while turning sharply (think cranking wheels all the way to the left or right to parallel park sort of idea).

Sorry total nub and its my first time owning a full time 4wd vehicle.

·
Premium Member
1,491 Posts
Are you doing this on paved road? If you are, you're binding up and causing undue stress and you can cause damage from what I understand for the auto trans. Keep to dirt, ice or other loose traction areas when in 4H/L, particularly while turning.

·
Premium Member
7,676 Posts
first of all, don't do this on dry pavement, which is why it feels lurchy. it's binding, it's grabbing for everything, and since there's no ice, wet, or mud, it's grabbing the cement and clinging.

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
That's exactly what's supposed to happen when you do the wrong thing. I'm sure someone will chime in with the exact page reference in the owners manual.:cheers:

You didn't break anything.:cheers:

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ahhh k gotcha

Its been in H4 due to the snow / ice. Will be more situational with it than I am being at the moment.

·
Registered
279 Posts