Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys sorry for the dumb question but please help me understand what these 3 things do....and most important where do they go??(talk to me like a 2 yr old lol ) I am new to owning anything like the FJ I just put on a OME 3in lift and will be adding 285/70/17s BFGs this week, are these 3 things that I have listed necessary? I do plan on getting my FJ dirty(trails, sand, mud, water holes) but will never be doing any kind of hardcore rock climbing or anything like that.......so do I need this stuff? (all parts I have seen were from ALL PRO upper A arms, sway bar links, sway bar collars)

·
Registered
6,822 Posts
I'll take a stab at it.
I don't know that any of these are "needed". After I installed my 3" lift I got it aligned. The person who did the work said that he ran out of adjustment. Some of the aftermarket control arms are built to correct the alignment issues.

I'm running stock links with no problems. As far as collars I think they are to keep the sway bar from tearing the CV boot if something breaks, there are threads on this I'll have to look up for my own knowledge.

I know lots of people that have reported breakage on suspension parts here. I too would like to know how extreme of 4 wheeling it takes to break things.

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Folks think that the sway bar links are breaking because the alum collars (which are pressed on, can easily be move out of place) on the sway bars are shifting. When this happens it cause room for the sway bar to shift left to right/right to left (what ever).
When the sway bar can move over far enought it will hit the shock or what ever, cause the sway bar links to break. And some case the links would break and swing down breaking the CV boot.

Bottom line, preventive measures. Secure the aluminium clamps from moving out of place OR just to keep the sway bar from having side ward play in it.
This can be done in two ways