Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2010 FJ
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My first "real" post here, unfortunately it is an unexpected issue.

I've had my FJ for about two months. It is a 2010 6MT that I bought used with about 165,840 miles on it. No apparent issues with it at all when I bought it. I live in southwest VA so it is basically turning summer here.

For the first month, I didn't have tags so didn't drive it. Then in the past month I've driven it maybe about six times, mainly to drive out to a beat up gravel road to off-road a bit (just very light stuff as I am brand new to all of this). It is not a DD and I have tried to limit myself to only driving it when I will be going off-road. I've put maybe 100 miles on it since I've gotten it. No issues at all driving it, parking it a week, and then driving it the following weekend. I've exercised H, HL, LL, the rear diff lock, and all works as expected.

The FJ got a little dirty over the past two off-roading trips so I decided to wash it along with my two other cars. I washed it in my driveway using a hose to make sure the wheels and underbody were cleared of dirt. After washing it, I parked it in the corner of my driveway and it sat for a week.

Yesterday, I went to start it up. Saw these lights on my dashboard:

The engine sounded normal and I could use gears and the clutch but it felt like all of the brakes were locked up. After a bit of research on this forum, I concluded it was because the brake pads were rusted to the rotors. I tried to rock it back and forth using first/reverse, and eventually broke the wheels free. Then I drove the vehicle around the neighborhood for a while to exercise the brakes. Seems to drive absolutely fine.