Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my FJ back from the dealer! No more Yaris!

They said one of the bolts to the knuckle arm broke and took a bunch of stuff with it. I asked them to save all the parts for me because I was so interested in this bolt.

Well... they didn't save the bolt or the knuckle arm for me! :flame:

I'm no pro mechanic, but I can't see anything obviously wrong here, so I'm hoping you're trained eyes can lead me in the right direction. Please speak up!

The spindle, unless it's bent I don't see any stripped threads, hogged out holes, or really even any marks on it:

Bearing:

Bearing assembly, again no stripped threads, marks from suddenly hitting other metal parts or anything obvious:

Let me know if I can get a pic from a different angle or something. The seal on the bearing might be messed up a little, but that's about all I can figure, and it doesn't look bad either.

Any help appreciated! :cheers:

·
Registered
2,698 Posts
I'm assuming he payed for it.

·
Premium Member
8,997 Posts
First of all . It is literally impossible to tell if the spindle is bent unless you compare it to a unbent one. Unless of course it's bent to a really big pretzel.
The bearing you show in the picture should not be apart like it is, It's a sealed bearing. I would assume that is toast. The hub may be ok . It would need a new bearing press fitted into it. unless it bent under severe side load when the spindle bolt let loose
I would go to a Toyota parts department and see if they have a spindle on the shelf and compare the height laying on a flat surface

·
Registered
2,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes I paid for parts.

That's kinda what I'm getting at wikid, the bearing is a separate part and the dealer should certainly have the means to press it in. They made me buy the entire assembly.

·