Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a quick post here, for anyone who's needed to install one of these. I located the amp in the passenger side foot well, on the right hand side. The pic below is taken through where the glove compartment is. I unbolted the white wire management tray, and gently eased the amp in. It fits snugly between the black-box data recorder, and the side wall of the truck.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,280 Posts
Very nice...What is it? lol

Its a profesional P.A. /air horn system. This is the same ones that emergency vehicles use. I build emergency vehicles for a living, and haveinstalled quite a few of these units, and am in the middle of installing the same one on my FJ. i was going to put the mpunder the passenger seat, but in the passenger foot well seems to be a much better spot! never thought of putting it there!

Maximnt, what speaker are you using? How are you going to activate the airhorn? Are you going to use a momentary switch, or hook it up to the horn switch?

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hey 5150, I'm using the SA314B mounted behind the front grill where the stock horn used to be. I cut down an SABKT1 vehicle mount so that it would mount on top of the upper cross member. I'll take pictures tomorrow to show you. It's not the best setup, but I was working with what I had available.

The wiring is a little "hackey", I pulled the speaker wires and a trigger wire from the front, and have got the horn being triggered off the stock horn output. I wanted to trigger off the actual horn pad, but I wasn't in the mood to disassemble the steering column when the Toyota diagrams show what looks like a common ground for the horn pad which would have made it necessary to cut wires (AFAIK - I'm not a pro, just a geek. :) )