Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I'm a newbie with a recently purchased 2012 FJ Cruiser. I've wanted a Land/FJ Cruiser since I was a kid. I have one now but don't quite know where to start. I grew up near the Couer d'Alene Mountains and did quite a bit of off roading back in the day-way before all this new-fangled technology ;-)

Now I live in the flat lands of Indiana. The closest mountain is Rumpke Dump which is 120 miles away in Cincinnati. I know there are mud pits not too far away. There are hills down in Kentucky and Tennessee which also aren't way far away.

So I'm looking for a little guidance. Should I leave my FJ stock or should I build out the suspension? I'm not really looking for any more height. I also want to be able to thrash it around a bit without worrying too much about destroying it. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

·
I Have a V-8!! Moderator
33,736 Posts
Leave it stock and see how it works for you as they are pretty good just as they are. New tires to match what you need, ie mud or AT, and go have fun.

Reactions: land.crusher

·
MOAB SUPERSTAR
6,350 Posts
X2 ^^ Do research on tires and get some good ATs maybe a bit larger than stock so you’ll have increased clearance, go play and keep reading up on mods....it’ll all fall into place :wink

·
Registered
68 Posts