Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Soooo, I'm a newb/beginner level offroader, and will be gettting a winch from my fam the next time I make it back to Iowa. In the meantime, I was hoping you locals may help be able to help me out with suggestions for the best places to buy, if its better to buy a pre-packaged kit or individual parts on their own(guessing its better to buy the individual parts on my own, and use an old Mil-spec bag I have sitting around for my "recovery gear bag"), and perhaps be able to tell me exactly what I "need".

I'm thinking the following would be "good" to have:
Receiver shackle bracket w/3/4" shackle
2- 3/4" shackles
1- 1/2" shackle
1- 3"x30' tow strap (30,000lb minimum)
1- 3"x10-20' Tree protector strap

I have several pairs of shop/work gloves, mats, etc......just thought the above would be a good list of "items" to have readily available. If I'm missing something, or have extra, please share your feedback. For the level and amount of offroading I do, I would rather buy skids for my rear LCA's/shocks than a Hi-Lift Jack, and I'm pretty sure I'd have made the right choice....

Thanks, folks!!! I've yet to be disappointed with this forum! :rocker:

·
Catalyst
9,205 Posts
Soooo, I'm a newb/beginner level offroader, and will be gettting a winch from my fam the next time I make it back to Iowa. In the meantime, I was hoping you locals may help be able to help me out with suggestions for the best places to buy, if its better to buy a pre-packaged kit or individual parts on their own(guessing its better to buy the individual parts on my own, and use an old Mil-spec bag I have sitting around for my "recovery gear bag"), and perhaps be able to tell me exactly what I "need".

I'm thinking the following would be "good" to have:
Receiver shackle bracket w/3/4" shackle
2- 3/4" shackles