Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes, I am a newbie, but the only practical reason I can see for increasing the tire diameter is to increase ground clearance.

But is the extra 1/2" or 1" in of clearance worth the money, lifts, potential body mount chop, etc?

Are there other reasons? What am I missing?

·
Registered
111 Posts
You answered your own question. However, the stock size looks a little silly with a lift. In that case, it's a slight aesthetic preference.

Look at it this way, if you were offered two different sets (one stock, one bigger) for the same price. Which would you choose?

·
Registered
353 Posts
'cause chicks dig it.... there is no other good reason.... :bigthumb: :lol:

·
Premium Member
8,285 Posts
Yes, I am a newbie, but the only practical reason I can see for increasing the tire diameter is to increase ground clearance.

But is the extra 1/2" or 1" in of clearance worth the money, lifts, potential body mount chop, etc?
It is worth it, depending on what kind of trails you're going to run with what kind of obstacles. In rocky terrain particularly, larger-diameter tires make a big difference on what you can get over and climb.

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
It is worth it, depending on what kind of trails you're going to run with what kind of obstacles. In rocky terrain particularly, larger-diameter tires make a big difference on what you can get over and climb.
OK...I get that.

But perhaps my math is wrong. Right now I have the OEM 265/70R17 which provides (according to spec) 9.6" of clearance. For me to add an inch of ground clearance (a 10% increase), I'd need to increase the tire RADIUS by 1" (or about 25.4mm)...yes?