Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
243 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been driving for 40 years. In that time I've owned nothing but Toyota, Honda and Nissan. Yet, as I think about a 4x4, I'm wondering why I shouldn't consider a Wrangler (there are certainly enough of them on the road/trail).

Yet, many of you clearly believe that the Wrangler is inferior. I'm wondering why? MY use will be primarily dd (15 mi. round-trip). 90% of the time I will be the only occupant. Rarely will anyone ever be in back seat (most likely off-road only).

IMO, x-terra is ugly (so is FJ but in an appealing way). I do not like eithet the exterior or interior design of the x-terra.

Help me out.

edadis

·
Registered
963 Posts
Jeeps have never been known for quality workmanship. My grandfather owned a Grand Cherokee for many years and yeah, it was nice but it had alot of transmission and brake problems (it ate through rotors like there was no tomorrow). Older ones from the '70s and older don't seem to have as many problems but since Chrysler took them over it's been downhill.

- LC

·
Registered
40 Posts
A good friend of mine that lives down the street has a wrangler. It is
always having problems. The other day we were driving around and the passenger side mirror just fell off. I couldn't help laughing my ass off.
Three months ago he found and bought a mint 1999 tacoma 4x4 with
an ARB bumper and other goodies. He is so impressed with Toyota that
the Wrangler is now for sale.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I don't think the Wrangler compromises well (the ride, noise, ergonomics and overall features suck) and some would say they like it this way.

I like the fact that the fj is just as capable (or extremely close) yet will have a very good ride and a lot more comfort than the Wrangler.

The Wrangler IMO in not a good choice for a DD, it is probably well suited as a second vehicle to take the top off or doing some off-roading.

·
Registered
228 Posts