Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
FYI... Anyone wanting to PROPERLY tint their front windows needs to add a felt strip to the inner piece of plastic that the Window slides through. You will note that the outer piece already has felt (not that it is needed for the purpose of tint). Over time the bare plastic will scratch your tint. It is very easy to apply once the door panel is off (which would be removed anyway for a proper tint job). Most cars already have felt on both pieces of rubber/plastic but our FJs do not!

Always best to have a pro do your tint. Cheap tint job is not good and good tint job is not cheap. Pre cut kits are not dead on and still require trimming. If you have OCD like me you will want the edges even around all the windows. My FJ was $270 all windows (any color...I went "limo") including a strip across the windshield. i have been using my tint guy for 5 years. Ask around as it's worth it to get a guy who knows his S**t.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Makes sense. Thanks for the info.

·
Premium Member
1,277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
some shops warranty the tinting job which allows you to take it in if it EVER gets damaged or develops bubbles. I think Suntex is one of the tinting types that has a lifetime warranty
Why deal with the hassle of having it re-done? Is the tint still covered if the work was done WRONG? what about when it just starts having minor scratching that appear as haze, and they say "there's nothing wrong here"

Wouldn't it just be easier to get it done right the first time?

·
Premium Member
1,277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So a pro will be able to add the felt? Looking to have mine done and want it right! Or is this something I should do myself first? Any source for the felt?

Thanks for the tip.