Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,749 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally received all my lights, mounts, and switches for my back-up light install. I am going to install the lights like ruebarb's install (Rack-Mount Back-up Lights), BUT, since I'm not an electrical engineer, I have some questions maybe someone could answer for me.
I purchased KC 717 57 series lights instead of the KC back-up lights; as in ruebarb's install.
Please bare with me because I am just about as dumb as you can get on wiring....
1. I am going to use the blank switch to the left of the steering column.
I will not have a problem there???? Will I???
2. How does the blank come out??? Do I just push it through from outside
in????
3. If I use a tap a circuit mini, is there a certain place on the fuse box that
it must be attached to????
4. I have a 2010 TT. Is it still the red wire with a yellow stripe that I need
to tap into for back-up power to switch????
5. Ruebarb ran all four wires (power and ground) from the lights to the relay.
Can I splice (combine) the two hots together and the grounds together
into two wires, instead of all four, before I go under the rain drip cap to
the relay????

That is all for now....Anyone wishing to chime in, please let me know something, because as you can see I don't!!!

I have read ruebarb's write-up over and over again, and I still don't understand these points.............Please anyone, give me some answers!!
Thanks in advance,
Jax

·
Registered
789 Posts
I am not an electrical engineer either, but my husband is and he's at work.lol. So this is what I know from experience.
1. Blank switches left of the steering column are identical to the ones under the stereo