Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Tinkerer's T-1 Alpha Build

30K views 63 replies 18 participants last post by  HeisKai 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
For years I have always wanted to start a build thread to document my journey with my FJ. And here I am today:smile

The Name
I like the character of a craftsman, someone who is humble, dedicated and good at creating and making things. I enjoy modifying my FJ equally, if not more than wheeling it. Hence I called myself a Tinkerer. My avatar is the Chinese character in an ancient font for tinkerer if you were wondering.
I work as a mechanical engineer. At least where i work, when we design a new part (injection molded, sheet metal, extrusions and etc), we call the first article samples T-1 (Trial-1). These are always the most exciting parts to receive because they are the first time you touch the real incarnation of your designs. For the first fully functional product we assemble, we call it the Alpha build. Whenever I can, I love to design and fabricate some unique parts for my FJ. Therefore, my FJ is my alpha build with T-1 parts.

Latest Profile Pic

May 2019
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Tire Automotive tire

December 2018
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Automotive tire Tire
Land vehicle Vehicle Automotive tire Tire Automotive exterior

August 2018
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Automotive tire Tire
Land vehicle Vehicle Tire Car Automotive tire

July 2018
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Automotive tire Bumper
Land vehicle Vehicle Off-roading Off-road vehicle Car

June 2018
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Off-roading Automotive tire

Baby Pic
This is within 1 months I got my FJ new. As you can see, it was covered in plasti-dip ?
Land vehicle Vehicle Car Toyota fj cruiser Automotive tire

Data Sheet
2013 AT with off-road stuff

Front Suspension:

Auto part Vehicle Tire Motor vehicle Suspension part

Rear Suspension:
  • Toytec Superflex Medium + Bilstein 5100s (SOLD)
  • OME60071L (in my garage)
  • MetalTech 1st Gen Medium Long Travel Springs